Braintree District Council Elections, Thursday May 2nd 2019

Green Party to stand in 19 of the 26 wards in Braintree District at the May 2nd local elections

Witham & Braintree Green Party is pleased to announce that it is standing a total of 22 candidates for the District Council elections to be held on Thursday May 2nd.

There will be Green candidates in 19 of the 26 wards in the district.

The Green Party has had representation on Braintree District Council continuously since May 1999 and is aiming both to retain the current seat it holds and to make gains at the May elections.

If you want to know more about the candidates in your area and what they stand for, please download the

Election Address Leaflet for Silver End and Cressing

Election Address Leaflet for Witham North


Witham and Braintree Green Party Candidates for the 2019 Local Elections

Braintree District Council ward.       Candidate.                        Parish Council.           Elected unopposed


Bocking Blackwater.                         John Malam.

Bocking North.                                Dawn Holmes.                  Silver End Parish.       (Elected)

Bocking South.                                Simon Attwood.

Braintree Central +Beckers Green.   David Andrews.

Braintree South.                               Nicholas Scales.

Braintree West.                                Edwin Gerrard-Abbott.

Great Notley+Black Notley.              Freddie Gerrard-Abbott.

Gossfield +Greensted Green.           Jenny Bishop.

Halstead St. Andrews.                      Daniel Shadbolt.

Hatfield Peveral + Terling.               Jonathan Barker.

Hedingham.                                    Stephanie Bills

Kelvedon and Feering.                     Jenny Sandum.

                                                       Paul Thorogood.              Coggeshall Parish.      (Elected)

Rayne.                                             Poppy Gerrard-Abbott.

Silver End + Cressing.                      James Abbott.                 (Rivenhall Parish)      (Elected)

                                                        Bob Wright.                    (Rivenhall Parish)      (Elected)

The Colnes.                                      Alan Sheppard.

Three Fields.                                    Andrea Phillips.              Wethersfield Parish    (Elected)

Witham Central.                               Nelson Brunton.              Witham Town Council

Witham North.                                 Michelle Weeks.              Witham Town Council.

                                                       Steve Hicks.                    Witham Town Council.

Witham West                                   Philip Hughes.                 Witham Town Council.


22 District Candidates, of whom 5 are also standing for Parish Councils, and elected unopposed, and 4 of whom are standing for Witham Town Council.

A candidate is elected unopposed when fewer nominations are received, by close of nominations, than there are seats up for election.


Next Green Drinks, 18th of April! 

Come and meet some like-minded people at our Green Drinks at Fowlers Farm in Braintree/Freeport at 7:30pm on Thursday, 18th of April. Everybody who is interested in Green Issues is welcome, - you don´t need to be a party member. If you are interested, contact James for more information or introduction to the group at




Latest news

>> More news

RSS Feed


Turn Witham & Braintree Green

Councillors Achievements

Sign up for monthly newletters

Good Energy

Switch to Good Energy and they will donate £50 to the Green Party

Switch to green electricity with Good Energy and they will give us £50 for everyone who joins them quoting GE2223 via the Good Energy website.

Ecotricity Green Electricity

Switch to Ecotricity

Switch electricity and/or biogas and they will donate up to £60 to us for every new residential customer. If switching both electricity and biogas, the firm will donate £60 to us. For switching just electricity, it’s £40; for just biogas, the donation is £20.  Use this link >>> and quote the code ERGP1.